Blog #2: TRYING to make my daughters Halloween costume- Vamparina

09/14/2018
Hi guys! For this blog I am going to talk about the process of trying to make my child's Halloween costume vs just buying it. The key word in the title is 'trying'. I am by no means a craft expert, nor do I have experience making costumes. I want to try because growing up my mother and grandmother made most of my costumes, so I want to see if I can continue the tradition. Here are the steps I took...

Step one:

Look at character.

See what items you would need to buy individually. 

Step 2: 

Compare

Cost of costume online/in stores vs cost of materials to make. 

The shop Disney website sells this costume for $40.
The shop Disney website sells this costume for $40.
You can also find cheaper Vamparina costumes on Amazon. This costume costs about $18
You can also find cheaper Vamparina costumes on Amazon. This costume costs about $18

My mother-in-law actually bought this costume for my daughter for Halloween before I had a chance to make it myself. 

You can purchase the Amazon costume above here: 

Step 3

Get Materials

If you want to save as much money as possible I suggest shopping at The Dollar Store and Walmart for everything you need.


Below are some things I found and the respective prices.

Headband ($1)

Socks ($1)

These socks may be for Women, but I think they would be big enough for my one year old daughter to wear under black shoes.
These socks may be for Women, but I think they would be big enough for my one year old daughter to wear under black shoes.

Gloves: ($1)

You can cut off the thumb and tops of fingers to make them look like Vamparina's.
You can cut off the thumb and tops of fingers to make them look like Vamparina's.

Shoes (Prices vary depending on what shoes you want to use.)

You can also use any black shoes you already own. 

These shoes were on WalMart's Website without a price listed, but they do have similar colors to the Vamparina costume.
These shoes were on WalMart's Website without a price listed, but they do have similar colors to the Vamparina costume.
You can always uses any black shoes you have or find an inexpensive pair at any store, like these from WalMart.
You can always uses any black shoes you have or find an inexpensive pair at any store, like these from WalMart.

Fabric Paint ($3-$7)

Shirt (price not listed on WalMart's website)

Dress ($8) I tried to find the cheapest black dress I could find but $8 was the lowest I found on WalMart's website. You can always go to different stores and find a better price or style depending on how much time you have. 

Step 4

Make 

So since my mother-in-law already bought my daughter a Vamparina costume, it didn't make sense (to my husband lol) that I make one myself. So see the video below for an awesome DIY! She did it better than I ever could anyway! 

Step 5

Is it worth it? 


The costume costs $40.00 (plus or minus tax) or around $18 to buy. 

Is it cheaper to make? Total cost of materials: I would estimate it costing anywhere from $18 to $35 depending on what materials you choose to buy and what items you already have. 


Is it too difficult to make? I think it's a pretty simple costume to make. Adding fabric paint to a simple black dress over a purple shirt isn't too hard. If you want to make it more elaborate you can really deck it out, but it may cost more time and money. 


Final answer:
In my opinion I think it's worth making if you have the time and energy / motivation to do it. Today everything is online, and shopping is just a click away. So if you are too busy to sit down and invest time to buy materials, and make the actual costume, just order it on Amazon or Disney.

My mother-in-law ended up buying the costume on amazon for my daughter, but I honestly wouldn't mind making the costume. Growing up my Abuela or mom always made my costumes. It's a little more personal, but also a little more work.

A costume made by my mom when I was young.
A costume made by my mom when I was young.
Even as I grew older, my abuela still made costumes for me. She sewed on each layer of fringe to a dress by hand!
Even as I grew older, my abuela still made costumes for me. She sewed on each layer of fringe to a dress by hand!

So it's up to you and what works best for your family. 


Let me know what you think... sign up below to subscribe if you want to see more blogs from me!

Thanks for stopping by! 
Good luck,
Veronica 

Good luck! 

Veronica 
Don't Judge Me, Port Orange, FL 32127
All rights reserved 2018
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started